What a difference a year makes

One year ago my mom was diagnosed with normal pressure hydrocephalus (NPH) as the cause of her dementia and balance/mobility issues. She was perpetually confused, couldn’t remember basic things like where she lived or what season of the year it was. At the time she was also recovering from a serious infection and had such severe edema that she couldn’t fit shoes on her swollen feet. She was not sleeping well at night and wanted to stay in bed all day. Walking farther than across the room tired her out. She had lost twenty pounds in three months, and I felt like she was wasting away in front of my eyes.

Yesterday Mom had her annual check-up with her primary care physician and the news was all good. Her weight has been stable (at about 134) for six months. Her heart function is good and the edema is long gone. In the mini mental exam, she correctly answered the year, the season and the day of the week. When asked what state she lives in, she automatically said “Arizona” (where she lived for 20+ years) but instantly caught herself and added “No, I live in California now.”

When the doctor asked her how she’s been feeling, she answered with a smile, “I feel great! For my age, I think I’m in remarkably good health.” Compared to this time last year, it really IS remarkable. You can see it here, comparing her birthday photo this year with the one we took last year.

Mom Then and Now

A year ago I was anxious about leaving her for a weekend to attend my niece’s graduation. At the end of this month, I’m taking a real vacation – nine days at a campground without internet connection or cell reception, truly unplugging from my job as caregiver for the first time in three years. I’ve made arrangements for someone to take her to church, for a friend to check on her mid-week and for another friend to be on call in case of any medical emergencies. But I’m not worried. She’s healthy and happy, and I know she’ll be just fine while I’m gone.

What a difference a year makes!

New blouse

Leave a Reply

