Another birthday

Mine, this time. I’m 49 today… which is old enough to know better than to drink too much at the 4th of July BBQ and wake up with a hangover. Heh. I slept all morning and almost canceled on taking Mom out for dessert after her lunch. She wouldn’t remember that it was my birthday if I didn’t remind her, so it’s not like she was counting on celebrating it with me. What finally got me into the shower and over to see her was my concern about how lethargic she was when I stopped over yesterday.

It was lunchtime, but she wasn’t at the table with the other ladies. The staff told me she’d gone back to bed at 10:00 a.m. I went to her room and woke her gently, asking if she was feeling all right. She said she was just tired. “I sleep a lot. There’s nothing else to do here. You’ll have to find me a place to go where there’s something fun to do.” Oh dear. She’d seemed so happy there. Was she going to start asking to leave?

“But you like the ladies here, don’t you?”

“Oh yes,” she said. “I don’t want to move away. I just want to go someplace, DO something.”

Relieved, I told her that I would pick her up tomorrow after lunch and we’d go get coffee and dessert to celebrate my birthday. She perked right up at that and I was able to convince her to go to the dining room for her lunch.

Today I arrived at 12:15 and found her, again, in bed. Staff said she’d eaten just a little lunch and then wanted to lie down. But she got up and put her shoes on (and yay! her regular shoes fit her feet again!) and was happy to go out with me. In the car she remarked at how good it felt to get out, to be part of the world and not just “part of that limited world in there.” Duly noted, Mom. I need to get you out more.

We went to a pie shop, where I had a big slice of apple pie and she tried the fresh peach pie and we both had coffee. I let her treat since it was my birthday. We had polished off the pie (though the pieces were gigantic) and were lingering over our coffee when she looked at me across the table and started to sing, very softly, “Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you…”

That is a moment I will treasure long after she’s gone.

3 thoughts on “Another birthday

  1. July 6: I talked to her a couple hours ago, and she remembered that your birthday is July fifth and you had a little observance. That was after I asked, of course ;-). Birthday celebrations are always important. It was good that she sang happy birthday to you, for sure. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

