Relief

Yesterday was my first day back at work after moving my mom. I called her in the afternoon to see how she was doing. I asked if she was having a good day. “Oh yes!” she replied. “I mean, we’re just sitting around watching TV, but it’s with a group of friends.”

I stopped by after dinner to visit. She was watching TV with the group and showed me that she had received a card from a friend and a letter from her cousin in Michigan. I told her that I was having her newspapers forwarded, so she should have some new papers to read soon too.

“I’m going to be here for a while, aren’t I?” she asked.

“Yes,” I said. “But you like it here, right?”

“Yes, I do.” After a thoughtful pause, she added, “It’s better than living alone, actually.”

This is exactly what I’d hoped for, that she would prefer the company of a group home to being alone in her room all day. Before I left, we talked a little more about the nice home she lives in now. “What makes this place special,” she said, “is their attitude. It’s a very caring place.” I couldn’t agree more.

I feel such a profound sense of relief, knowing that she is not only safe but also happy in her new home. The weight of worry that has been grinding me down for months has been lifted, and I feel so lighthearted I could almost fly.

5 thoughts on “Relief

  1. So perfect! I love that you understood what your Mom really needed AND that she gets it too. All that work….worth it. Love you, Lira!

  2. I am so glad she is happy. It took my mom much longer to adjust but then she finally agreed it was the best place to be. She was thankful they would take care of dad too while she was in the hospital and after she passed.

  3. You’ve earned the “relief.” Good for you, Lira, and happy for your mom. Is this her 3rd move? If so, it reminds me when my husband was in the corporate world he said it took 3 tries to get it really right when integrating a new business into a corporation. We don’t think of caregiving as a business when we’re the adult child responsible for the caregiving. We try so hard, putting so much energy and love into doing it right from the get-go. But perhaps this just can’t happen and we need to remember to have the fortitude you’ve shown, and make the hard changes until we get it right. Not easy; not everyone can do this. Here’s to much better days.

Leave a Reply

