Two Visits

I’ve spent a lot of time with my mom the last two days, and I feel really good about it.

Last night I joined her for dinner, which was (for a change) quite appetizing: poached salmon, couscous and green beans with a peach rugala for dessert. They sat us at a different table where there was an empty seat for me, and neither of the two men at that table was interested in making conversation, so I just talked with Mom. I kept one eye on her usual table and it seemed pretty serene with S present. Toward the end of our meal, Dominic rolled up in his wheel chair to say “I’ve got good news!” While he was trying to arrange everything for his move to the new place, his social worker has been trying to get him into the facility he really wanted. He’s been on their waiting list for four years, and it looks like they’re finally going to take him. He’ll know for sure early next week. I’m keeping my fingers crossed, and Mom and I have both promised to visit.

After dinner they had some live entertainment, a female singer with a karaoke-style backing track. She made a real effort to put on a show, with several costume changes and lots of flirting with the men in the audience, but I wasn’t all that impressed with her talent. Mom enjoyed it, though, and it kept her out of her room for an hour — so I call that a win.

This afternoon my friend visited with me for a couple of hours. We brought Mom down to the game room and played Mexican Train (dominoes) together until dinner time. After we’d walked her to the dining room and hugged her goodbye, my friend helped me program the new universal remote I bought for her TV. It’s designed specifically for seniors with only a few very large buttons. It’s programmed with just 15 or so of the channels she will actually watch, which should make it much easier to find what she wants. And now I won’t have to “fix” her TV every time I go over.

Tomorrow is church, and afterward I can drop her off and go have brunch with my girlfriends without any guilt. I’ve spent a lot of quality time with her this weekend already.

Leave a Reply

