In other news…

When we saw the doctor yesterday, he agreed that she shows all the classic signs of depression. He is starting her on a low dose of Zoloft. “I’m going to give you some pills that will give you a bit more pep” is how he explained it to her. She agreed that more pep would be a good thing.

I showed up for my first dementia caregivers support group meeting last night, only to find out that I’d been given the wrong information and the meeting had happened the night before. I was really frustrated because they only meet once a month and I was so looking forward to having some people to talk with who are going through the same thing. So I spent my evening on the Alzheimer’s Foundation website and signed up for their message boards, so I can post on the Caregivers Forum. I’m also going to call them and find out if there are any other support groups in my area.

Also, I don’t remember if I shared that she had lost her phone. Thankfully, she has two cordless phones in her room (one within reach of the bed) so she wasn’t out of touch.  But I had turned her room upside down looking for the missing unit for several days. I finally found it. In her purse.

One thought on “In other news…

  1. I have a co-worker going through similar situation. I feel for you both. I always thought losing my mother too soon was a harsh reality, but everything really can be about perspective. Best to you and her.

Leave a Reply

