Overwhelmed

I arrived at my mom’s apartment around 9:30 last night, after a long day that began at 5:00 a.m. and included almost 8 hours of driving with a migraine.  I looked around the place that has been my home away from home for the last four years, and instead of finding comfort in the familiar surroundings all I could see was the hundreds of things that needed doing. And that was just the moving-related stuff. I began to understand just how overwhelming the logistics of this move must be to my mother, who is old and tired and no longer has the mental capacity to keep track of so many details.

This morning started with physical therapy at 8:00. Then I took her over to the new assisted living community to sign the move-in paperwork and pay the first month’s rent. What I thought would be a quick trip took two and a half hours. She was worn out when we got home and took a nap, while I:

  • got groceries
  • picked up packing boxes and tape
  • did her laundry
  • fixed dinner
  • managed to pack just three boxes before I hit the wall.

It’s clear that I grossly underestimated the task of managing her day to day care while preparing for her move. I have no idea how it’s all going to get done in ten days. Right now I’m feeling completely overwhelmed.

One thought on “Overwhelmed

  1. Hang in there! I am sure that in the last few days you have found ways to prioritize and get things done. Ask for and accept help, OK? However it works out, it willl work.

Leave a Reply

